Christian Tablet: Just like the iPad, except that it doesn’t really work. But at least it’s Christian

I swear I am not making this up.

A company called ‘Christian Family’ just released the world’s first ‘Christian’ tablet, called the edifi. It comes with free apps including 27 Bible translations, safe web browsing, and Christian internet radio. The following lines are direct quotes, excerpted from enthusiastic customer Mandy’s review on the Christian Family website. Again, I swear I am not making this up.

“The touchscreen isn’t really for touching… not as smooth as say my touchscreen phone. I have had trouble with downloading apps and using the apps… I have had to re-start and deal with force closing, quite a bit. However, I can be very persistent and patient and seemingly the more I use them the less I am getting error messages. The App Squared app is supposed to allow you to download apps, for the last three days I have tried to do so, but it always force closes on me and when I get to do a search nothing comes up. Overall… It’s been rewarding to tell my friends and family that I have a Christ-centered tablet.”

Mandy gave the edifi 4 out of 5 stars. It seems she believes that the term ‘Christ-centered’ refers to anything that does not work as it was designed. Which, now that I think about it, actually explains much of USAmerican Evangelicalism.

All jokes aside, I have to say I find the edifi, and other products like them, extremely disturbing. Not because they are necessarily morally wrong, but because of the damaging impact of putting the emPHAsis on the wrong sylLAble.

We were meant to focus on making ourselves Christ-centered, not our technology.

Humans can be Christians, humans can be Christ-centered, but inanimate objects can never be! But, it’s much easier to skip personal character and instead focus on our surroundings. And so we reduce Christianity to listening to ‘Christian’ music, wearing ‘Christian’ t-shirts, sucking on ‘Christian’ mints, and shopping at ‘Christian’ bookstores.

It’s bad enough that much (most?) of the ‘Christian’ products are vastly inferior to their… ‘unChristian’ counterparts.

It’s a tragedy when we strip-mine the concept of ‘Christ-centered.’ Reducing ourselves to such a poor understanding of fixing our eyes on Jesus does not enrich our journey, but instead impoverishes our spirit.

About Tim Owens

I'm a husband, father, and Christ follower. I also live in Albany, NY, where I work as a pastor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christian Tablet: Just like the iPad, except that it doesn’t really work. But at least it’s Christian

  1. Frank says:

    I think there are many great christian products out there, they’re just not marketed as Christian products. They’re businesses that are founded on Christian principles and led by Christian leaders. 🙂

  2. Sabrina says:

    I just found this blog and I must say that I find your posts refreshing. I am a Christian and attend a Missionary Baptist (different that southern baptist) church in N. Ga. While I have a strong believe in God and feel l walk closly with him, I don’t always agree with those who practice the same faith. I think there are extremes on both sides: christians who try too hard and alienate the rest of the world, and non-belivers who preach anti-descrimination and open-mindedness, but who also blast christians at every turn. Two of my favorit sayings: “We can’t fight the battle if we are afraid to go to the war zones,” (preacher re: the bible) and “don’t judge others b/c their sins are different than yours.” (church sign in Eatonton, Ga). I truly believe that love is the answer and that my life should be a reflection of that and a light to others. Forcing my beliefs on to others will never do either of us any good.

    I just wanted to say think you so much for your posts. I’m sure I may not agree with them all, but I will look forward to reading them.

    On a side note, I’m starting a blog of my own. It will be called “ofmanybeliefs” and each day or so I will post a question in order to understand how each person’s beliefs affect their daily life. For example, I might say, “Why do we exist?/What are we here to do?” I’m hoping to get responses from many different belief systems. I want to understand how others cope without God. I think the findings will be enlighting. Once I get it going, I would love to have you comment, or post a question. I’m sure this is a bit presumptiuos, but it never hurts to ask.

Join the discussion by adding your thoughts and questions!!

