Ice Cream Cone Discipleship

One of my favorite things to do in the summer is to take my kids out for a chocolate-dipped ice cream cone. We’ll sit on the curb in the sweltering heat, enjoying our sugary treat. Somehow, by the end of the cone they have more chocolate and ice cream on their face, hands, shirt, shorts, and even feet than I suspect made it into their stomach! By contrast, the second I throw away my napkin I’ve erased all evidence that I was ever eating one.

The main difference between my kids and I when it comes to ice cream is that they are ALL IN. They attack their cone with an all-consuming exuberance. They devour it with reckless abandon, unperturbed by the mess, completely devoting themselves to the cone and the moment. Sure, I may enjoy mine, but I’m meticulous, careful, and circumspect, devoting as many of my faculties to avoiding a mess as I do to employing my taste buds.

My caution outweighs my passion.

Many of us approach our faith with the same caution I employ with my ice cream cone, trying to squeeze our faith into the rest of our already busy lives. Sure, we enjoy a good weekend service and perhaps give a couple additional hours during the week. But, just like with ice cream, our caution mutes our passion.

We are called to a discipleship that encompasses all that we are! We are called to pour our lives into our faith, rather than squish our faith into our lives. We are called to discipleship that that follows my kids’ approach to eating ice cream–one that covers us head to toe.

My hope is that our faith will drip, splatter, and stain our priorities, schedule, work, budget, and especially our social life.

And I trust that the only smile broader than my kids’  after a cone will be ours.

About Tim Owens

I'm a husband, father, and Christ follower. I also live in Albany, NY, where I work as a pastor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion by adding your thoughts and questions!!

