Evangelical Abdication

“Someone should move that out of the road before there’s another accident.”

It popped into my mind as I drove through an intersection littered with debris from a recent collision. I instantly realized the irony behind my passive call to action. I broke into a rueful smile as I told my wife, and we both chuckled.

But we never stopped. I drove on, and the debris remained in the road, undisturbed.

One of the pitfalls of being an American Christian is that we’ve grown accustomed to the presence of experts–in this case the fire department, NYDOT, or AAA. And to be fair, there are countless contexts where the delegation of responsibility is the best course of action. I’m happy to delegate a triple bypass to a surgeon, technological know-how to Apple, or weather forecasting to weather.com.

But when does delegation become abdication?

Delegation becomes abdication when an election is the only evidence we have to merit the title “pro-life.”

Delegation becomes abdication when we call ourselves a Christ-follower, but rely on our pastors to talk about Him to our friends and neighbors.

Delegation becomes abdication when we buy a red iPod, a pair of shoes, or a T-shirt, and tell ourselves that we’re a part of ending poverty.

Delegation becomes abdication when we settle for a prayer when God is calling for prayer and action.

Delegation becomes abdication when we distract ourselves with programs when God is calling for devotion.

Delegation becomes abdication whenever we leave debris untouched that God has called us to move.

It is our own abdication that renders us powerless, not the onslaught of the enemy.

The power of the Church has nothing to do with our position in culture and or politics. The power of the Church has everything to do with whether or not we fulfill the responsibility of possessing the glorious riches of Christ in us, the hope of glory.

Will we abdicate to the experts, or will we try to exhaust the riches of Christ?

About Tim Owens

I'm a husband, father, and Christ follower. I also live in Albany, NY, where I work as a pastor.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Evangelical Abdication

  1. Alan Demers says:

    I abdicate to my Pastor-friend Tim Owens on my feelings of faith and action!!! Thank you Tim for putting it so clearly and perfectly… now I’m challenged to start my own BLOG!! When I do, I’ll invite you to join it! Thanks again Tim!!

Join the discussion by adding your thoughts and questions!!

